Aktuelles und Agenda

Annual Congress 2024 in Lucerne

The next annual congress on Economic Populism will take place in Lucerne, 6/7 June 2024.

Keynote Lectures:
Sergei Guriev (Sciences Po)
Gilat Levy (London School of Economics)
Maria Petrova (Universitat Pompeu Fabra)

Paper submission is closed. 

Registration in open.

Annual Congress 2023 in Neuchâtel - Thank you!

Thank you for joining us at our Annual Congress 2023 in Neuchâtel

Congratulations to our Award winners:

SSES Young Economist Award

  • Véra Zabrodina for the paper  "Timing Moral Hazard under Deductibles in Health Insurance"

Economic Journalism Award

  • Mark Dittli for his analytical and fact-based coverage of economics and finance topics of relevance for Switzerland
Annual Congress 2022 in Fribourg - Thank you!

Thank you for joining us at our Annual Congress 2022 in Fribourg. Here you find the report "More than 111 economists met in Fribourg".

Congratulations to our Award winners:

SSES Young Economist Award

  • Ulkike Unterhofer for the paper "Peer Effects in Active Labour Market Policies"

Economic Journalism Award

  • Hansueli Schöchli for his analytical and fact-based writing about economic policy issues in Switzerland
Changes on the Editorial Board

The Society’s general assembly has elected Sarah Lein as the new chief editor of the Swiss Journal of Economics and Statistics from January 2022. Sarah Lein will succeed Rafael Lalive who will continue as a co-editor. The board of the Society has elected Jérémy Lucchetti as a new co-editor from January 2022. Jérémy Lucchetti will succeed Cédric Tille. The Society thanks Rafael, Cédric, Sarah, and Jérémy for their past, current, and future contributions to the success of the Journal.

Special Issue of the Swiss Journal of Economics and Statistics on Covid-19

To promptly disseminate research on the impact of the Covid-19 pandemic in Switzerland, the Swiss Journal of Economics and Statistics publishes an open special issue with papers on the topic. The following papers have been accepted for publication in the special issue and are/will be available through the open access platform of Springer (

Florian Eckert, and Heiner Mikosch (2022) Firm Bankruptcies and Start-Up Activity in Switzerland During the COVID-19 Crisis.

Michael Christl, Silvia De Poli, Dénes Kucsera, Hanno Lorenz (2022) COVID-19 and (gender) inequality in income: the impact of discretionary policy measures in Austria.

Regina Pleninger, Sina Streicher, Jan-Egbert Sturm (2022) Do COVID-19 Containment Measures Work? Evidence from Switzerland.

Pragyan Deb, Davide Furceri, Daniel Jimenez, Siddharth Kothari, Jonathan D. Osry, Nour Tawk (2021) The Effects of COVID-19 Vaccines on Economic Activity.

Daniel Goller and Stefan Wolter (2021) Too shocked to search.

Nicolo Gatti, and  Beatrice Retali (2021) Saving lives during the Covid-19 pandemic: the benefits of the first Swiss lockdown.

Lucas Marc Fuhrer, Marc-Antoine Ramelet, and  Joern Tenhofen (2021) Firms' participation in the Swiss COVID-19 loan programme.

Konstantin Büchel, Stefan Legge, Vincent Pochon and Philipp Wegmüller (2020) Swiss Trade During the Covid-19 Pandemic: An Early Appraisal.

Nawazish Mirza, Jamila Abaidi Hasnaoui, Bushra Naqvi, and Syed Kumail Abbas Rizvi (2020) The Impact of Human Capital Efficiency on Latin American Mutual Funds during Covid-19 Outbreak.

Sarah Lein and Santiago Ernesto Alvarez (2020) Tracking Inflation on a Daily Basis.

Sébastien Kraenzlin, Thomas Nellen, and Christoph Meyer (2020) COVID-19 and regional shifts in Swiss retail payments.

Marius Brülhart, Rafael Lalive, Tobias Lehmann and Michael Siegenthaler (2020) Covid-19 Financial Support to Small Businesses in Switzerland: Evaluation and Outlook.

Marius Faber, Andrea Ghisletta, and Kurt Schmidheiny (2020), A Lockdown Index to Assess the Economic Impact of the Coronavirus.

George Sheldon (2020), Unemployment in Switzerland in the Wake of the Covid‐19 Pandemic: An Intertemporal Perspective.

Martin Huber and Henrika Langen (2020), Timing Matters: The Impact of Response Measures on COVID-19-Related Hospitalization and Death Rates in Germany and Switzerland.

Heiner Mikosch and Florian Eckert (2020), Mobility and Sales Activity During the Corona Crisis: Daily Indicators for Switzerland.

Pascal Seiler (2020), Weighting bias and inflation in the time of Covid-19: Evidence from Swiss transaction data.

Yvan Lengwiler (2020), Blacking Out.

Marc Burry and Daniel Kaufmann (2020), A daily fever curve for the Swiss economy.

Sylvia Kaufmann (2020), Covid-19 outbreak and beyond: The information content of registered short-time workers for GDP now- and forecasting.

New co-editor

The board of the Swiss Society of Economics and Statistics has elected Sarah Lein ( as new co-editor starting in January 2021

New co-editors

The board of the Swiss Society of Economics and Statistics has elected Conny Wunsch ( and Stefan Bühler ( as new co-editors starting in January 2020. They will replace Martin Brown and Volker Grossmann. Martin and Volker have served on the editorial board since 2015. We thank them very much for their contribution to improve the quality and reach of the journal. Martin will retire from the editorial board by the end of 2019, Volker will retire by the end of 2020.

Annual Congress 2020 in Zurich will be postponed

Unfortunately, due to the COVID-19 crisis, we have to postpone the annual congress of the Swiss Society of Economics and Statistics by one year. It is now scheduled to take place in Zurich on

Thursday, June 10, and Friday, June 11, 2021

Annual Congress 2019 in Geneva - Thank you!

Thank you for joining us at our Annual Congress 2019 in Geneva

Congratulations to our Award winner:

  • Katharina Erhardt for the paper "Born to be an Entrepreneur? How Cultural Origin Affects Entrepreneurship"

Annual Congress 2019 in Geneva

The program is online now.

You can find the overview on the congress homepage or download it here

The full program is located on this page or can be download form here

Annual Congress 2019 in Geneva

The SSES Annual Congress and the General Assembly 2019 will be held at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies in Geneva on 13-14 June 2019. Please save the date! Graduate Institute

Call for papers

Annual Congress 2018 in St. Gallen - Thank you!

Thank you for joining us at our Annual Congress 2018 in St.Gallen

Congratulations to our Award winners:

  • Andrea Camilli for the paper "Labor market institutions and homeownership"
  • Helge Liebert and Beatrice Mäder for the paper "Health care supply and infant mortality: Semiparametric evidence from Germany, 1928-1936"
Annual Congress 2017 in Lausanne - Plenary sessions on YouTube

Plenary session I: Marion Fourcade (UC Berkley - Department of Sociology) 
Watch video on YouTube

Plenary session II: James Robinson (University of Chicago - Harris School of Public Policy)

Watch video on YouTube

Aymo Brunetti's article at NZZ: Link